Saturday, 9 March 2013

You know we're excited about this.

In 2011, sludge metallers Beastwars transformed New Zealand's heavy music scene with their internationally acclaimed, multi-award-nominated debut. On 19 April 2013, the Wellington-based four-piece return with their highly anticipated new album, Blood Becomes Fire.

Abiding by Beastwars' own steadfast maxim, 'Obey the Riff', Blood Becomes Fire features 10 songs that serve witness to the end of days, told through the eyes of a dying traveler from another time.

"It's a reflection on mortality, death and disease. Sooner or later they come for all of us," says vocalist Matt Hyde.

"It’s a heavy album, both sonically and lyrically," says drummer Nathan Hickey, "but what solidifies it are the triumphant 'fuck yeah' riffs. To us, this music is like getting psyched up to go into battle. You could be at war with yourself, or someone else."

Following a successful collaboration on Beastwars' debut, Blood Becomes Fire was co-produced, recorded and mixed by Dale Cotton (HDU, Die! Die! Die!), mastered in California by John Golden (Neurosis, Swans, High on Fire), and features the art of Weta Workshop's award-winning Nick Keller—whose mind-melting gatefold oil paintings depict a twisted world inspired by the aural artillery within.

Beastwars formed in 2007, and their self-titled debut was released in 2011. It went in at #15 on the national charts, was shortlisted for the Taite Music Prize and nominated twice at 2011's New Zealand Music Awards, was a successful vinyl release, and topped Bandcamp's most downloaded lists.

Beastwars' reputation as a commanding live act has been secured with sold-out shows on multiple nationwide tours, and the band was hand-picked to support acts such as High On Fire, the Melvins, Kyuss Lives!, Kylesa, Black Cobra and Fu Manchu on their New Zealand tour dates.

Streaming audio sample and limited edition pre-order merch bundles of Blood Becomes Fire are available now at These include 100 gold and red split colour LPs with gatefold art, which come with custom Beastwars guitar picks.

Following the release of Blood Becomes Fire, Beastwars will tour Australia and New Zealand supporting John Garcia's post-Kyuss band, Unida, before headlining their own shows in May. 


1. Dune
2. Imperium
3. Tower of Skulls
4. Realms
5. Rivermen
6. Caul of Time
7. Ruins
8. Blood Becomes Fire
9. Shadow King
10. The Sleeper

Clayton Anderson – Guitar
Nathan Hickey – Drums
Matt Hyde – Vocals
James Woods – Bass


No comments: